The Fort Sackville Foundation

The Fort Sackville Foundation (FSF) is a voluntary, non-profit organization

The FSF is a Registered Canadian Charity – No. 885410548RR0001, and a Nova Scotia non-profit society – NS Joint Stock number 1857945 [ June 16, 1988 Societies Act (chapter 286 RSNS 1967)].

The Foundation manages Scott Manor House.

Our Mission

To collect, protect, preserve, and promote the history and cultural heritage of Bedford.

Our Mandate

  • Collecting, preserving and interpreting photos, artifacts and stories of historical significance to Bedford 
  • Researching the peoples, places, organizations and events, and the built and natural environment of Bedford
  • Cultivating and promoting an understanding of the heritage of Bedford, by production of monographs, exhibits, public programs, and other activities
  • Maintaining and promoting Scott Manor House and the site of Fort Sackville
  • Advocating for heritage preservation

Fort Sackville Foundation Board of Directors

  • Francene Cosman
  • Roslyn Duffus
  • Carolyn Harvie
  • Ann MacVicar
  • Geoff Regan
  • Sandi Corbin
  • Carolyn Crowell
  • Lynn Loder
  • Debbie Miller
  • Judy White

Fort Sackville Foundation Executive (2023–2024)

  • Chair – Debbie Miller
  • Vice-Chair – [currently unfilled]
  • Secretary – Carolyn Crowell
  • Treasurer – Lynn Loder

Committee Chairs/Coordinators (2023–2024)

  • Archives – Carolyn Harvie
  • Communication – Claire Richardson
  • Curator of Exhibits – Francene Cosman
  • Grounds – Steve Corbin
  • House – Graham Lindsay
  • Program – Sandi Corbin
  • Reading, Research and Resources – Ann MacVicar and Sandi Corbin
  • Tea Room – Ann MacVicar [acting]
  • Technology, Webmaster – Graham Lindsay
  • Photos – Ken Dodsworth

Volunteer and Join Us

If you are interested in joining the Fort Sackville Foundation or volunteering to work on one or more of the committees,
call (902) 832-2336, or send an email to

Our Policies and Manuals – see how we do business

Scroll to Top